English

Launching of a new reading programme

Subject Overview

In English Language, students develop their reading, writing, speaking and listening skills in order to read fluently and write and communicate effectively. We use a wide range of texts as reading stimuli and engage with creative as well as real and relevant contexts. Students have opportunities to develop higher-order reading and critical thinking skills that encourage genuine enquiry into different topics and themes. We strive to give our students a confident control of Standard English and the ability to write grammatically correct sentences, as well as the skills to deploy figurative language and analyse texts.

Student quotes:
“I enjoy English Language, especially creative writing. I have developed my ability to write in a range of different styles.”
“English Language is my favourite subject. It’s made me understand that reading and writing are skills that you can always improve upon. I have learnt to appreciate the skills used by professional writers.”

Teaching and Learning

At KS3, we teach English Language separately from English Literature. Students are set by ability in order to ensure that all students are provided with tailored and differentiated lessons to fully support and extend their learning. Our half-termly schemes of work are divided thematically with a unifying objective to develop and extend core skills.

Year 7

Terms 1 and 2
• Non-fiction on the theme of war<
• Travel writing

Terms 3 and 4
• Changing stories – fairytales
• The Sea

Terms 5 and 6
• Persuasive Pets
• Speeches

Year 8

Terms 1 and 2
• Man and Beast
• Biography/Autobiography

Terms 3 and 4
• Food
• Homelessness

Terms 5 and 6
• Film Reviews
• Disasters

KS4 Course(s) offered

At KS4, students work towards the GCSE English Language qualification. The vast majority of students are preparing for the AQA English Language qualification. Our half-termly schemes of work are divided thematically with a unifying objective to develop and extend core skills.

Year 9

Terms 1 and 2
• Controversial issues
• Growing Old

Terms 3 and 4
• Gothic
• The Future

Terms 5 and 6
• Location, Location, Location
• Journeys

Year 10

Terms 1 and 2
• Crime
• Travel

Terms 3 and 4
• Horror
• Relationships

Terms 5 and 6
• Mock exam revision
• Spoken language – presentational skills
• Science and Technology

Year 11

Terms 1 and 2
• Conflict
• Mock Preparation and Dystopias

Terms 3 and 4
• Writing Skills Intensives
• Reading Analysis Intensive

Terms 5
• Exam revision

Assessment

The AQA course is examined through 100% final exam, as stipulated by Government reforms to qualifications. Students are assessed throughout their course through formative and summative assessment in class, as well as through formal mock examination.

Homework

Homework is set once a week in accordance with the homework timetable. Homework always includes learning 10 spellings that are tested in lesson. All weekly spellings can be found on the website, on Show My Homework and students will also be provided with a paper copy.

Examples of homework tasks are:

• Research what school life was like in the early 20th century in the UK. Present your findings as a leaflet or a poster. Use the question sheet to help direct your research.
• Write a descriptive piece (one A4 side) or a poem about a friendship that has been important to you.
• Using your notes, practise your speech with a friend or a member of your family. Ask them to time you (it should last three-four minutes) and then ask you questions about your topic.

Homework is easily accessible to students through Show my Homework: https://peacehaven.showmyhomework.co.uk

Helpful Weblinks

KS3: http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/z3kw2hv
KS4: https://www.bbc.co.uk/education/examspecs/zcbchv4
AQA: www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english/gcse/english-language-8700/specification-at-a-glance

Teaching Staff

Miss Madi Bliss, Head of Faculty: mbliss@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Ms Lauren Haywood, Lead Practitioner: lhaywood@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Rosie Pannett, Lead Practitioner: rpannett@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mr Dan Hill, KS3 Coordinator: dhill@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mr Martin Jeeves, Intervention Coordinator: mjeeves@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Miss Vicky Langridge, Teacher of English: vlangridge@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Suzannah Moroney, Teacher of English:  smoroney@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mr Michael Goble, Teacher of English and Media: mgoble@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Michelle Pollard, Teacher of English: mpollard@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Sally Rodgers, Teacher of English: srodgers@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Miss Sarah Thomas, Teacher of English: sthomas@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Claire Willis, Teacher of English: cwillis@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk

Support your child with their reading

A leaflet is available from the school if you would like more ideas about how to support your child with their reading, or click here to download a copy.

We have a brilliantly stocked library and our librarian, Diane Carr, is always on hand to help students choose reading material. Please see the library’s page on this website for information on joining the Southern Schools Book Award reading group or the Carnegie Award shadowing group.

Other Downloads:

KS3 English Language Long term assessment planning

KS3 English Literature Long term assessment planning

Helping Your Child to Become a Good Reader

English Faculty After School Support

Notices

Need Help?

Simply contact the school office via our telephone or email address. During term we aim to respond within 24 hours.

01273 581100
enquiries@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk