English

Subject Overview

In English Language, students develop their reading, writing, speaking and listening skills in order o read fluently and write and communicate effectively. We use a wide range of texts as reading stimuli and engage with creative, as well as, real and relevant contexts. Students have opportunities to develop higher-order reading and critical thinking skills that encourage genuine enquiry into different topics and themes. We strive to give our students a confident control of Standard English and the ability to write grammatically correct sentences, alongside the skills to deploy figurative language and analyse texts.

Teaching and Learning

At KS3, we teach English Language separately from English Literature. Students are set by ability in order to ensure that all students are provided with tailored and differentiated lessons to fully support and extend their learning. Our half-termly schemes of work are divided thematically with a unifying objective to develop and extend core skills.

Year 7

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • • Non-fiction on the theme of war
  • • Travel writing
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • • Changing stories – fairytales
  • • The Sea
  • Terms 5 and 6
  • • Speeches
  • • Persuasive Writing
  • Year 8

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • • Man and Beast
  • • Biography/Autobiography
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • • Food
  • • Homelessness
  • Terms 5 and 6
  • • Review writing
  • • Charity
  • KS4 Course(s) offered

    At KS4, students work towards the GCSE English Language qualification. In 2015-16, current Year 11 students are studying Cambridge IGCSE, whilst Y9 and Y10 students are working towards the AQA English Language qualification.

    Year 9

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • • Controversial issues
  • • Journeys
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • • Gothic
  • • Growing Old
  • Terms 5 and 6
  • • The Future
  • • Location, Location, Location
  • Year 10

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • • Creative Writing
  • • 20th and 21st century fiction texts
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • • Writing to argue, persuade and explain
  • • 20th and 21st century non-fiction texts
  • Terms 5 and 6
  • • Developing critical evaluation and analysis skills
  • • Mock exam revision
  • • Spoken language – presentational skills
  • Year 11

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • • Narrative writing
  • • Transformational reading/writing skills
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • • Analysis and summarising skills
  • • Reading response coursework
  • • Preparation for speaking exam
  • Terms 5
  • • Reading exam revision
  • Assessment

    The IGCSE course includes written coursework (40%), a speaking examination (20%) and a final examination (40%). Students are assessed throughout their course through formative and summative assessment in class, as well as through formal mock examination.

    The AQA course is examined through 100% final exam, as stipulated by Government reforms to qualifications. Students are assessed throughout their course through formative and summative assessment in class, as well as through formal mock examination.

    Homework

    Homework is set once per week in accordance with the homework timetable. Homework always includes learning 10 spellings that are tested in lesson.

    All weekly spellings can be found in the planner. Examples of homework tasks are:

    question sheet to help direct your research

    • Write a descriptive piece (one A4 side) or a poem about a friendship that has been important to you

    • Using your notes, practise your speech with a friend or a member of your family. Ask them to time you (it should last three-four minutes) and then ask you questions about your topic.

    Homework is easily accessible to students through Show my Homework: https://peacehaven.showmyhomework.co.uk

    Teaching Staff

    Miss Madi Bliss, Head of Faculty: mbliss@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Ms Lauren Haywood, Lead Practitioner: lhaywood@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mrs Rosie Pannett, Lead Practitioner: rpannett@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mrs Claire Willis, KS3 Coordinator: cwillis@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mr Martin Jeeves, Intervention Coordinator: mjeeves@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mr Michael Goble, Teacher of English: mgoble@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mr Dan Hill, Teacher of English: dhill@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mrs Michelle Pollard, Teacher of English: mpollard@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mrs Sally Rodgers, Teacher of English: srodgers@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Miss Sarah Thomas, Teacher of English: sthomas@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Ms Nicky Dimaline, Higher Level Teaching Assistant: ndimaline@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk

    Support your child with their reading

    A leaflet is available from the school if you would like more ideas about how to support your child with their reading, or click here to download a copy.

    We have a brilliantly stocked library and our librarian, Mrs Hussey, is always on hand to help students choose reading material. Please see the library’s page on this website for information on joining the Southern Schools Book Award reading group or the Carnegie Award shadowing group.

    Other Downloads:

    KS3 English Language Long term assessment planning

    KS3 English Literature Long term assessment planning

    Helping Your Child to Become a Good Reader

    English Faculty After School Support

    Notices

    Need Help?

    Simply contact the school office via our telephone or email address. During term we aim to respond within 24 hours.

    01273 581100
    enquiries@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk