English Literature

Launching of a new reading programme

Subject Overview

In English Literature, students develop knowledge and skills in reading, writing and critical thinking in order to acquire knowledge of the best that has been thought and written and to appreciate the depth and power of the English literary heritage. Our course encourages students to read widely for pleasure, as well as developing understanding, fluency and stamina for reading through supported reading of a wide range of classic literature. Students learn to make connections across their reading, to read in depth and critically and evaluatively explain their understanding and ideas. In addition, they develop the skills to write accurately, effectively and analytically, using Standard English, a wide vocabulary and knowledge of literary and linguistic terms.

Teaching and Learning

At KS3, we teach English Literature separately from English Language. Students are in mixed ability groups in order to generate high level understanding and responses from all students. Our schemes of work are divided about key writers and texts with a unifying objective to develop and extend core skills.

Year 7

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • Coraline by Neil Gaiman
  • • Introduction to Shakespeare
  • Terms 5 and 6
  • • The Sea – focus on poetry
  • • Childhood – short stories and passages
  • Year 8

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • • War poetry
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  • Terms 5 and 6
  • Blood Brothers by Willy Russel
  • Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
  • KS4 Course(s) offered

    AAt KS4, students work towards the AQA English Literature qualification.

    Year 9

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • • Gothic Literature
  • • Poems from other cultures
  • b>Terms 5 and 6
  • Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
  • • Short Stories – Sunlight on the Grass
  • Year 10

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • Macbeth by William Shakespeare – overview
  • • Unseen poetry
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • • Anthology poetry – Relationships
  • An Inspector Calls by J.B. Priestley
  • Terms 5 and 6
  • • Mock exam preparation
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley - overview
  • Year 11

  • Terms 1 and 2
  • Frankenstein and Macbeth comparative essay
  • • Anthology poetry
  • Terms 3 and 4
  • An Inspector Calls and Of Mice and Men – writer’s purpose
  • • Unseen poetry
  • Terms 5
  • • Exam revision
  • Assessment

    The current course studied by Year 11 includes a written controlled assessment (25%) and final examinations (75%). Students are assessed throughout their course through formative and summative assessment in class, as well as through formal mock examination.

    The new AQA course studied by Year 9 and Year 10 is examined through 100% final examinations, as stipulated by Government reforms to qualifications. Students are assessed throughout their course through formative and summative assessment in class, as well as through formal mock examination.

    Homework

    Homework is set once per week in accordance with the homework timetable. At KS3, students have a fortnightly homework task to complete an independent reading journal to encourage independent reading. Examples of homework tasks are:

    • Use pp. 43-46 to draw an image of Charlie, Molly and Tommo which shows their friendship. Annotate with quotes.

    • Research the genre of Gothic Literature and create a poster of Gothic features. Put information into your own words and reference your sources.

    Homework is easily accessible to students through Show my Homework: https://peacehaven.showmyhomework.co.uk

    Teaching Staff

    Miss Madi Bliss, Head of Faculty: mbliss@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Ms Lauren Haywood, Lead Practitioner: lhaywood@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mrs Rosie Pannett, Lead Practitioner: rpannett@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mrs Claire Willis, KS3 Coordinator: cwillis@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mr Martin Jeeves, Intervention Coordinator: mjeeves@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mr Michael Goble, Teacher of English: mgoble@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mr Dan Hill, Teacher of English: dhill@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mrs Michelle Pollard, Teacher of English: mpollard@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Mrs Sally Rodgers, Teacher of English: srodgers@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Miss Sarah Thomas, Teacher of English: sthomas@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
    Ms Nicky Dimaline, Higher Level Teaching Assistant: ndimaline@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk

    Support your child with their reading

    A leaflet is available from the school if you would like more ideas about how to support your child with their reading, or click here to download a copy.

    We have a brilliantly stocked library and our librarian, Mrs Hussey, is always on hand to help students choose reading material. Please see the library’s page on this website for information on joining the Southern Schools Book Award reading group or the Carnegie Award shadowing group.

    Other Downloads:

    KS3 English Language Long term assessment planning

    KS3 English Literature Long term assessment planning

    Helping Your Child to Become a Good Reader

    English Faculty After School Support

    Notices

    Need Help?

    Simply contact the school office via our telephone or email address. During term we aim to respond within 24 hours.

    01273 581100
    enquiries@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk