English Literature

Launching of a new reading programme

Subject Overview

In English Literature, students develop knowledge and skills in reading, writing and critical thinking in order to acquire knowledge of the best that has been thought and written and to appreciate the depth and power of the English literary heritage. Our course encourages students to read widely for pleasure, as well as developing understanding, fluency and stamina for reading through supported reading of a wide range of classic literature.  Students learn to make connections across their reading, to read in depth and critically and evaluatively explain their understanding and ideas. In addition, they develop the skills to write accurately, effectively and analytically, using Standard English, a wide vocabulary and knowledge of literary and linguistic terms.

Student quotes:
“I really enjoy all of the different texts that we read in English Literature. I particularly enjoyed studying Animal Farm by George Orwell. I thought it was interesting that the book could be interpreted in different ways.”

“I actually really enjoyed studying the poetry in the Anthology. At first, I was overwhelmed by how many poems we needed to study, but then I found myself making connections between them and being able to pick out techniques independently.”

Teaching and Learning

At KS3, we teach English Literature separately from English Language. Students are set by ability in order to ensure that all students are provided with tailored and differentiated lessons to fully support and extend their learning. Our schemes of work are divided into key writers and texts with a unifying objective to develop and extend core skills.

Year 7

Terms 1 and 2
Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo

Terms 3 and 4
Coraline by Neil Gaiman
• Introduction to Shakespeare

Terms 5 and 6
• The Sea – focus on poetry
• Introduction to Shakespeare

Year 8

Terms 1 and 2
Animal Farm by George Orwell
Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Terms 3 and 4
Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
Blood Brothers by Willy Russell

Terms 5 and 6
Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
• War Poetry

KS4 Course(s) offered

At KS4, The vast majority of students work towards the AQA English Literature qualification.

Year 9

Terms 1 and 2
Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
Lord of the Flies by William Golding/Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

Terms 3 and 4
Lord of the Flies by William Golding/Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
• Poems from other cultures

Terms 5 and 6
Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

Year 10

Terms 1 and 2
• Unseen poetry
Macbeth by William Shakespeare – overview

Terms 3 and 4
An Inspector Calls by J.B. Priestley

Terms 5 and 6
• Mock exam preparation & Anthology poetry – Part 1
• Macbeth Revisited

Year 11

Terms 1 and 2
• A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
• Paper 1 Mock Preparation & Anthology Poetry

Terms 3 and 4
• Paper 2 Mock Preparation
• Christmas Carol/Anthology Poetry exam strategy

Terms 5
• Exam revision

Assessment

The AQA course studied at GCSE is examined through 100% final examinations, as stipulated by Government reforms to qualifications. Students are assessed throughout their course through formative and summative assessment in class, as well as through formal mock examination.

Homework

Homework is set once a week in accordance with the homework timetable. At KS3, students have a fortnightly homework task to complete an independent reading journal to encourage independent reading. Examples of homework tasks are:

  • Use pp. 43-46 to draw an image of Charlie, Molly and Tommo which shows their friendship.  Annotate with quotes.
  • Research the genre of Gothic Literature and create a poster of Gothic features. Put information into your own words and reference your sources.

Homework is easily accessible to students through Show my Homework: https://peacehaven.showmyhomework.co.uk

Helpful Weblinks

KS3 & KS4: http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/english_literature/
AQA: http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english/gcse/english-literature-8702

Teaching Staff

Miss Madi Bliss, Head of Faculty: mbliss@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Ms Lauren Haywood, Lead Practitioner: lhaywood@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Rosie Pannett, Lead Practitioner: rpannett@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mr Dan Hill, KS3 Coordinator: dhill@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mr Martin Jeeves, Intervention Coordinator: mjeeves@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Miss Vicky Langridge, Teacher of English: vlangridge@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Suzannah Moroney, Teacher of English:  smoroney@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mr Michael Goble, Teacher of English and Media: mgoble@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Michelle Pollard, Teacher of English: mpollard@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Sally Rodgers, Teacher of English: srodgers@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Miss Sarah Thomas, Teacher of English: sthomas@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk
Mrs Claire Willis, Teacher of English: cwillis@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk

Support your child with their reading

A leaflet is available from the school if you would like more ideas about how to support your child with their reading, or click here to download a copy.

We have a brilliantly stocked library and our librarian, Mrs Hussey, is always on hand to help students choose reading material. Please see the library’s page on this website for information on joining the Southern Schools Book Award reading group or the Carnegie Award shadowing group.

Other Downloads:

KS3 English Language Long term assessment planning

KS3 English Literature Long term assessment planning

Helping Your Child to Become a Good Reader

English Faculty After School Support

Notices

Need Help?

Simply contact the school office via our telephone or email address. During term we aim to respond within 24 hours.

01273 581100
enquiries@pcs.e-sussex.sch.uk